In the mind of: Jean Claude Michel

Jean Claude Michel is a very dear friend of mine. He grew up in Haiti and started photography in 2010. I decided to interview him to better understand the work he does and how but most importantly through what other artistic branches he plans to expand himself as an artist.  He is someone who is always looking to explore and reinterpret himself and the world around him, which he often does through photography but also through rigorous and vibrant conversation. Read along to find out more about this artist and visionary which I love and respect tremendously.

Kira P: How did you get started with photography?

Jean Claude Michel: After the big earthquake in 2010 in Haiti an alumni from my school, Frederic Dupoux,  started a photography workshop to introduce photography to student as a career choice and i was one of the best student, I’ve always loved visual art but i never really thought i was good in photography and could even pursue it as a career.

K.P: When did you know that photography would be a big part of your life?

J.C: The moment I got trapped in it really, was when I knew that photography is and will always be a big part of my life. I always though it was interesting and I will always love the sensibility of capturing emotions through that medium. 

K.P: What is the shoot you were the most proud of?

J.C: I’m proud of a lot of my work but i think the one that makes me feel the most pride is this shoot I did with some friends which portrays a scenery that treats the subject of femininity and body acceptance, it was also selected by the Vogue Italia artist platform, so I’m pretty proud of that one!

Jean Claude Michel – Vogue Italia Artist Platform Selection

K.P: How does your personality translates through your photography?

J.C: I do a lot portraits and i think the reason for that is because I like being intimate with people and like to explore the mental but also the physical aspect of human beings, which is why I tend to make people feel comfortable when they’re around me. That’s the part I’d say shows the most in my work.

K.P: I’ve known you for a long time and one of the things I know you’re passionate about is deep and odd conversation. Why is it important, in your mind, to pick and get to know somebody’s brain before associating yourself with them?

J.C: The reality of the thing is that i don’t really get to know the person before but if you’re around me, eventually I’ll get to know you. In general, i believe in people and I think that we do bad things not for the sole pleasure of doing bad things but because there’s something that happened to us before which reflects and affects the way an individual sees the world. We are an accumulation of our experiences, and it’s only in figuring out what those experiences are that you can manage to have a good relation with other people.

Jean Claude Michel

K.P Do you expand yourself to other forms of art or is it strictly photography? 

J.C: Well, I love cinematography, and I’m working on a short film project, it’s something that really has a special spot in my heart! I also want to get myself in the art of painting by the end of the year!

Jean Claude Michel

K.P: Is there a project that’s always been in the back of your mind, but that you haven’t had the chance to work on yet?

J.C: To be honest i have a lot of projects I haven’t gotten to yet. I have a specific one that I really want to work on, it’s about the role of the spirit of water in the Haitian voodoo scene and context. But right now I rather work on my professional career so that i can make the money I need to buy all the equipment needed for this project.

K.P: Who would your dream collaboration be with?

J.C: I think I’d have to say Stromae and The Weeknd, I’ve always been amazed by the power that comes with the their visual; it’s simple and complex at the same time and it’s mostly timeless, which I love.

K.P: You do a lot of work for companies and artists (singers, etc…) how do you balance that with your personal projects?

J.C: Yes! I work mostly for corporate events and manage artist images and sometimes it’s so intense that I can’t work on anything personal. For example right now I’m a social manager for Mikaben which consists mostly of managing and creating content for three different social media platforms. With this specific job I don’t have the time to start or to stop, it’s a full time job…I can wake up in middle of the night having to go out with him, or sometimes I have to read all the comments and prepare the new content depending on how people react from the latest content we’ve been putting out. To add on to that, I still do weddings and other freelance jobs at the same time so I don’t really have as much time to work on personal projects.

Jean Claude Michel – Blue Kids

K.P: Is there anything else you want to add that would help us understand the mind of Jean Claude Michel?

J.C: Beside my photography work, I’ve studied Marketing and I’m a handcraft addict; I do ceramics and try to teach myself the most about woodworking, I’ve gotten very knowledgeable about that! I also want to be a furniture designer and as I mentioned before I want to start painting by the end of this year.  

 

That’s a wrap with Jean Claude Michel! Thank you so much for answering some questions and to you all, thank you for reading!

You can keep up with Jean Claude’s photography on Instagram!

Cover picture by Kelly Paulemon.

Kira P

Leave a comment